ELL

Department Members


Julie.Jenewein@verona.k12.wi.us
Abram.Krause@verona.k12.wi.us
Jose.Liborio@verona.k12.wi.us
Laila.Miguel@verona.k12.wi.us
Anthony.Simonini@verona.k12.wi.us
Jenna.Smith@verona.k12.wi.us

The English Language Learner/Bilingual (ELL/Bilingual) department is an integration of teachers from various core content areas: English, Math, Science, and Social Studies. The ELL/Bilingual department offers courses that parallel courses in the core departments with scaffolding to make content accessible and often provide bilingual support to our English language learners. Students are held to the same rigorous performance standards as in all the core departments. One of the fundamental principles guiding ELL instruction at Verona Area High School is that the students develop content and language acquisition simultaneously.

El Departamento de Aprendizaje del Idioma Inglés/Bilingüe (ELL/Bilingual) es una integración de maestros de varias áreas de aprendizaje básico: Inglés, Matemáticas, Ciencias, y Estudios Sociales. El Departamento de ELL/Bilingual ofrece cursos en inglés y español que son paralelos a los cursos ofrecidos en los departamentos principales de la materia. Se espera que los estudiantes funcionen bajo el mismo nivel de conocimientos estipulados por los departamentos principales. Un principio fundamental de la instrucción de ELL en Verona Area High School es que los estudiantes desarrollen sus conocimientos del contenido y la adquisición del idioma simultáneamente.


Bilingual Program Vision and Mission Statement

To offer students whose native language is not English a quality education through ESL/bilingual programming and native language support in the following areas:  language and literature, mathematics, science, social studies, and writing, along with support in gym classes, health, and other elective classes.

All ELL / Bilingual students will:

  • Improve English proficiency in listening, speaking, reading, and writing; and

  • Work toward grade-level proficiency in both core content area classes and elective classes. 

To ensure adequate support and progress, ELL / Bilingual staff will provide language and/or content area instruction appropriate for the age, educational background, and proficiency level of students.