Science

Department Members

Matt.Austin@verona.k12.wi.us
Matthew.Bruss@verona.k12.wi.us
Michelle.Burns@verona.k12.wi.us
Richard.Dow@verona.k12.wi.us
Katherine.Fasbender@verona.k12.wi.us
Annelies.Howell@verona.k12.wi.us
Jennifer.Klepper@verona.k12.wi.us
Stephanie.Krueger@verona.k12.wi.us
Angie.Midthun-Hensen@verona.k12.wi.us
Hope.Mikkelson@verona.k12.wi.us
Dustin.Moench@verona.k12.wi.us
Dave.Nelson@verona.k12.wi.us
Jason.Strauss@verona.k12.wi.us
Matt.Tiller@verona.k12.wi.us

Science Mission Statement

Through the use of field experiences, labs and new technologies, the science department exposes students to many areas of scientific study, from natural science, to animals, to body systems. There is an emphasis on experimentation and hands-on learning using technology and imagination to better understand the world in which we live. The principal goal of science education at VAHS is to empower students to be critical thinkers, able to actively problem solve and participate in all aspects of their lives.

All Science students will:

  • Be able to demonstrate basic skills including: computation, conversions, measuring, reading, creating, making observations, and interpreting data and graphs.
  • Be able to demonstrate Science processes including: analyzing data, making and testing predictions, applying Science concepts to the real world, and think critically.

  • Be able to effectively communicate Science concepts, results, and observations in written, oral or graphical form.  Students who take Science classes at Verona Area High School will be able to demonstrate basic skills and apply them through inquiry based processes.  Students will understand, communicate, and interpret how Science applies to their lives.  These skills will allow them to be active members in an ever changing world and society.