Social Studies

Department Members

Sara.Asendorf@verona.k12.wi.us
Jeff.Behringer@verona.k12.wi.us
Julie.Berndt@verona.k12.wi.us
Sarah.Domres@verona.k12.wi.us
Kara.Johnson@verona.k12.wi.us
Jason.Knoll@verona.k12.wi.us
Andrew.Larson@verona.k12.wi.us
Denise.Quinn@verona.k12.wi.us
Michael.Ray@verona.k12.wi.us
Haley.Stoecker@verona.k12.wi.us

In order to fully participate as a citizen of the United States and the world at-large, one must understand the importance of history and the contribution of cultures. To this end, social studies at VAHS is a crucial component of the curriculum. Using the skills taught in social studies classes will enable students to better understand and contribute to their own society. Active involvement with the material is one of the defining principles of the program. Students are exposed to a variety of learning experiences. Additionally, social studies classes focus on a variety of skills, and perhaps more than any other program, merges content from many classes and programs at VAHS, and prepares students for life in the real world. 

Social Studies Vision and Mission Statement

As a result of their social studies education, students will be able to do the following:

  • Critically read primary and secondary sources,

  • Use primary and secondary sources to form and support an argument,

  • Analyze the forces that shape our past, present, and future,

  • Make connections between eras/events in history,

  • Observe and respond to the world around them, and

  • Contribute to society in a positive and meaningful manner