Special Education

Department Members

Todd.Casey@verona.k12.wi.us
Laura.Czernik@verona.k12.wi.us
Richard.Engen@verona.k12.wi.us
Whitney.Fowler@verona.k12.wi.us
Cheryl.Gulbrand@verona.k12.wi.us
Faye.Hoban@verona.k12.wi.us
Krista.Kasten@verona.k12.wi.us
Karen.McBride@verona.k12.wi.us
Andy.Miller@verona.k12.wi.us
Mindy.Mulryan@verona.k12.wi.us
Catherine.Neuman@verona.k12.wi.us
Bethany.PalmerPeterson@verona.k12.wi.us
Rebecca.Ryan@verona.k12.wi.us
Justin.Scanlon@verona.k12.wi.us
Jennifer.Tordeur@verona.k12.wi.us
Fritz.Wendorf@verona.k12.wi.us

The Special Education Department at VAHS (historically known as Exceptional Educational Needs, EEN) is comprised of both certified teaching staff as well as special education assistants who support student learning across all academic areas. Students who are identified as eligible for these services have an Individual Educational Program, developed by a team, which includes the student and his/her parents. Services are provided to the student on a continuum of levels from consultative supports to specially designed and delivered courses.

Special Education Vision and Mission Statement

The mission of the special education department is three-fold: (1) to provide specially designed curriculum when necessary, as well as modifications, accommodations and/or related services for students to be successful in their regular education curriculum; (2) to help students and families think about their life after high school and identify long-range goals; and (3) to design the high school experience to ensure that students gain the skills and connections they need to achieve those goals. 

Special Education provides opportunities for students to: 

  • Make progress in the regular education curriculum through modifications, accommodations and/or related services.

  • Help students and families think about  the future and consider what they want to do after high school;

  • Jointly plan for how to make the high school experience relate directly to students’ dreams and desired outcomes;

  • Help students and families make connections to services they will need after high school; and

  • Increase the chance that students are successful once they exit school