World Language

Department Members

German

Karen.Diemer-Toney@verona.k12.wi.us
Karin.Wirth@verona.k12.wi.us

French

Katy.Dueppen@verona.k12.wi.us
Jenny.Wolfe@verona.k12.wi.us

Spanish

Emily.Harris@verona.k12.wi.us
Gabriel.Marin@verona.k12.wi.us
Melissa.Oftedahl@verona.k12.wi.us
Beth.Rodriguez@verona.k12.wi.us
Dianna.Rogers@verona.k12.wi.us

In today’s society, no education can be considered complete that does not include exposure to other languages and cultures. VAHS is well aware of this need, and fulfills it by offering students a rich and varied curriculum. Classes offered in French, German and Spanish allow students to study the language, history, culture and geography of other societies. In addition to learning the language, students also learn problem solving techniques, time management, tolerance and acceptance of new ideas. More and more, today’s employers are seeking employees with some knowledge and background in a world language; our department readies students to meet these requirements. Students who complete a course of language study through the fourth or fifth level have a foundation for a wide variety of career options including international relations, marketing, social service, and business.

World Language Vision and Mission Statement

The mission of the VAHS World Language Department is to prepare students to be responsible citizens in a global community while developing their communicative proficiency and cultural awareness. Our mission is also to help students compare their own language and culture to that of others while connecting to other disciplines by means of the language they are learning.