English

Department Members

Blake.Beavers@verona.k12.wi.us
Debra.Breunig@verona.k12.wi.us
Tracy.Burandt@verona.k12.wi.us
Mollie.Cahill@verona.k12.wi.us
Caitlin.Evans@verona.k12.wi.us
David.Fidler@verona.k12.wi.us
Emilee.Grunow@verona.k12.wi.us
Mary.Hardin@verona.k12.wi.us
Justine.Hollander@verona.k12.wi.us
Kabby.Hong@verona.k12.wi.us
Laura.Hughes@verona.k12.wi.us
Richard.Matulat@verona.k12.wi.us
Laila.Miguel@verona.k12.wi.us
Emily.Phillippi@verona.k12.wi.us
David.VanNostrand@verona.k12.wi.us
Valerie.Vinyard@verona.k12.wi.us

English is one of the core subjects at VAHS that prepares students to live in a world filled with information and ideas. Our students are learning how to think with clarity and how to express that thinking in written and oral language that is clear, richly detailed and sophisticated. They are learning how to read more carefully and with more sophistication, and how to better negotiate the literate world. As they delve into the world of reading, they will read  texts that represent a wide range of voices from multiple racial, ethnic, cultural, gender, and sexual identities. As they write, they will have the opportunity to use their writing to amplify their voices and the voices of others. Finally, students will be able to learn communication skills in order to collaborate and communicate with others, especially in order to gain true understanding in order to achieve a goal. 

English Vision and Mission Statement

All English students will:

  • Critically read and analyze texts and media. 


  • Effectively research by finding detailed information on various topics from numerous, reliable sources. 


  • Cogently write to a diverse audience for a wide variety of purposes. 


  • Consistently demonstrate critical thinking skills. 


  • Confidently speak to a diverse audience for a wide variety of purposes. 


  • Attentively listen.


 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.